Recent experimental results of KEK Isotope Separation System (KISS)

19 Jul 2019, 09:10
Ball Room (McGill University)

Ball Room

McGill University

Thomson House 3650 McTavish Montreal, Quebec, H3A 1Y2 Canada


Yutaka Watanabe (KEK WNSC)


KEK Isotope Separation System (KISS) is a laser ion source with an argon gas cell, we have been developing at RIKEN RIBF facility [1,2]. The KISS project is motivated by the systematic nuclear spectroscopy of neutron-rich nuclei at the north-east part of the nuclear chart, that is from around neutron-magic number 126 to the trans-uranium region. The systematic studies of lifetimes, masses, beta-gamma spectroscopy and laser spectroscopy of those nuclei will provide information of nuclear structures, which is crucial inputs to the theoretical predictions of nuclear parameters included in the the simulation of r-process nucleosynthesis, its astrophysical environments remain unrevealed yet.

KISS has an argon gas cell which is optimized to efficiently collect and extract nuclear products in the multi nucleon transfer (MNT) reactions, which are considered to be appropriate mechanism to produce neutron-rich nuclei of interest [3,4]. The employment of a doughnut-shaped gas cell with high-vacuum condition of the primary beam line improved the extraction efficiency [5]. The laser resonance ionization technique is used to element-selectively ionize the element of interest. Those photo-ions are transported by RF ion guides through the differential pumping area and are finally accelerated by a high voltage to select one species of isotopes with a mass separator. In-gas-cell and in-gas-jet laser ionizations are utilized at KISS.

In this presentation, we will report the present status, the recent experimental results and the future plan of KISS.

[1] Y. Hirayama et al., Nucl. Instrum. and Methods B 353 (2015) 4.
[2] Y. Hirayama et al., Nucl. Instrum. and Methods B 376 (2016) 52.
[3] Y.H. Kim et al., EPJ Web of conferences 66 (2014) 03044.
[4] Y.X. Watanabe et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 115 (2015) 172503.
[5] Y. Hirayama et al., Nucl. Instrum. and Methods B 412 (2017) 11.

Primary authors

Dr Hiroari Miyatake (KEK / WNSC) Dr Hironobu Ishiyama (RIKEN) Dr Jin Hyung Park (Institute for Basic Science) Dr Jun-Young Moon (Institute for Basic Science) Mr Michiharu WADA (Wako Nuclear Science Center, KEK) Michihiro Oyaizu (KEK WNSC) Dr Momo Mukai (University of Tsukuba) Dr Murad Ahmed (University of Tsukuba) Peter Schury (KEK Wako Nuclear Science Center) Dr Souta Kimura (RIKEN Nishina Center) Dr Sunchan Jeong (Institute for Basic Science) Dr Yoshikazu Hirayama (KEK / WNSC) Yutaka Kakiguchi (KEK WNSC) Yutaka Watanabe (KEK WNSC)

Presentation Materials

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now