Status of St. Benedict at the Nuclear Science Laboratory

17 Jul 2019, 11:00
Ball Room (McGill University)

Ball Room

McGill University

Thomson House 3650 McTavish Montreal, Quebec, H3A 1Y2 Canada


Daniel Burdette (University of Notre Dame)


St. Benedict, the Superallowed Transition Beta-Neutrino Decay-Ion-Coincidence Trap, is in development at the University of Notre Dame's Nuclear Science Laboratory. This ion trapping system will be composed of three main components. The first component will be a large-volume gas cell which will thermalize ions through collisions with a buffer gas, coupled with a RF-funnel-based ion guide system followed by a sextupole ion guide (SPIG) for extraction. Then, a radiofrequency quadrupole (RFQ) will take the continuous beam from the gas catcher and produce a cooled, bunched beam for injection into a linear Paul trap. The Paul trap will hold the ions near rest until they decay, and surrounding detectors will be used to determine the kinematics of the decay particles. The $\beta$-decay spectrum can be extracted from this information, and used to determine the $\beta$-$\nu$ angular correlation coefficient, $a_{\beta\nu}$. This will allow for the determination of the Fermi to Gamow-Teller mixing ratio, $\rho$, for members of the ensemble of T=1/2 superallowed $\beta$ decays whom have not had this quantity measured experimentally. The determination of $\rho$ for these decays will allow for the calculation of a precision $\text{V}_{\text{ud}}$ value complementary to the current precision limit provided by superallowed $0^+$$\rightarrow0^+$ decays. The current status of the project will be presented. This work is funded by the National Science Foundation Major Research Instrumentation grant PHY-1725711.

Primary authors

Daniel Burdette (University of Notre Dame) Maxime Brodeur (Notre Dame) Dr Jason A. Clark (Argonne National Laboratory) Patrick O'Malley (University of Notre Dame) Andreas Pardo (Londrina State University) Dr Ryan Ringle (The National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory) Prof. Guy Savard (Argonne National Laboratory/University of Chicago) Adrian Valverde (Argonne National Laboratory) Prof. Victor Varentsov (Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research in Europe (FAIR GmbH), Darmstadt, Germany; 3 Institute for Theoretical and Experimental Physics, Moscow, Russia)

Presentation Materials

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now